Ascension Island Government

Government > News

New Justice of the Peace Appointed

3 June 2020


On 27 January 2020, acting in accordance with section 7(3) read with 7(3A) of the Magistrates’ Court Ordinance 1968, and having complied with the requirements of section 161 of the Constitution, the Governor appointed Martijn Smeets as a Justice of the Peace for Ascension. On 03 June 2020 Martijn was sworn in by Administrator Sean Burns and joins Lisa Bailey, Jolene Sim, Marie-Anne Dennis and Iain Lamb as Ascension Island Justices.

The court exercises both civil and criminal jurisdiction throughout Ascension for any law in force, with the exception of those conferred exclusively on the Supreme Court or on a court of record.