Ascension Island Government

Government > News

New Justices of the Peace Appointed

20 February 2020


On 03 February 2020 the Governor, under section 161 of the Constitution, appointed Marie-Anne Dennis and Iain Lamb as Justices of the Peace for Ascension. They join Lisa Bailey, Carol Fuller and Jolene Sim as Ascension Island Justices.

The court exercises both civil and criminal jurisdiction throughout Ascension for any law in force, with the exception of those conferred exclusively on the Supreme Court or on a court of record.